RSS

Superhero Humor Dept.: The Golden Age Is Way Over

24 Sep

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2011 in Superheroes

 

2 responses to “Superhero Humor Dept.: The Golden Age Is Way Over

  1. kbartx

    September 24, 2011 at 2:36 PM

    That post is SO RUDE! At least the kids don’t holler, “Hey, Dye job!” at me as I hobble by with my rollator. Some even say, “Thanks for serving!” when I wear my WWll veteran’s cap.

    Like

     
    • centaureg

      September 24, 2011 at 3:25 PM

      I wasn’t sure if you would respond negatively or not to it. Yes it is rude. But then so is my blog. Last night I watched a few minutes of a roast for Charlie Sheen and you have no idea what rude really sounds or look likes if this gets you going. I find I have to roll with the punches with the amount of gay jokes going around.

      It isn’t actually referring to ordinary senior citizens, but the idea that the Golden Age comic book characters are pretty much over as witness DC’s effort to reboot its major comic series.

      I’ve had gray, or as a friend says, “silver” hair since before I was forty and I used a cane for a while before I was 50, because of recuperating from the heart attack. I was thinking how Neil Young was considered “the grand old man of alt rock” at 45! I can be sensitive to the plights of other people, but I happen to love sick humor and always will. Does that make me a bad person for posting a superhero joke involved with aging? No way! Hell, there is a significant chance that I will never get to your age. I will never have anyone thank me for being a conscientious objector during a lousy war that we should have never lost men and women in and I feel that is every bit as significant as thanking someone for serving. It is a good sign that the tide has shifted to the point that veterans are recognized by the average citizen at all.

      I’m sorry if you were offended, but I find we all think nothing of laughing at those situations that don’t touch us personally and get bent out of shape at the ones that do. it only hurts when we identify with it. I believe in equal opportunity offense. That way, since there is no chance that humor that chides or ridicules people will ever disappear, everybody gets to taste what it feels like to be demeaned. Maybe when the wars stop sick humor will, too.

      Please ignore this rant if your comment wasn’t meant totally seriously. But be warned: everybody is fair game at Superversity for admiration, mocking, or out and out repulsion.

      Cheers,
      Greg

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers