RSS

Progress Dept.: Farewell Kodachrome

30 Dec

I got a Nikon camera

I love to take photographs

So mama don’t take my Kodachrome away

–“Kodachrome”, Paul Simon

I’d love to tell you that loading a camera with a film canister was always easy and a delight. Or that getting film developed and being satisfied with the results were always happy experiences. I will never miss having to drive off somewhere to achieve that process. Nor will I miss how many lousy shots I took that I had to pay to see. Thank God for digital cameras and the ability to view and edit your own work. I see the digital revolution as a gift to all photographers and especially to a butterfingers like me.

But the passing of Kodachrome film is very much worth noting. Kodachrome made it possible for people to capture incredible images in color and was one of the most important contributors toward making photography something the Average Joe could do well. There are many things that I grew up with and utilized that no longer exist. Technology changes at an alarming rate. I dare say that within the next decade we will see the replacement of iPods and Blue Ray as well as much of what we now take for granted in computing. If something lasts for two decades it is a major piece of technological development these days. So just pause for a moment and reflect on the fact that Kodachrome was used for 75 years. As far as any technological achievement is concerned that is an extraordinarily long time. And for 75 years it produced sterling results. Many stalwart users will be saddened by its demise. I am grateful that it lead the way toward digital and the high quality of images that are now capable without film.

Will I be missing something I no longer need? Definitely not. But I will always have fond memories of the first time I loaded my 35 mm Olympus camera and shot a roll of Kodachrome. And thanks to the people at Eastman Kodak for making that possible. When I succeeded at using their product there was no better means to record my world and its beauty. A tip of the hat to Kodachrome and a hearty thank you for a job well done.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2010 in Progress

 

Leave a comment